Orange Bikes, Privateer in store now?

March 10 2011

When Tym Manley and Geoff Waugh rolled up to the factory we knew the questions would come thick and fast. Tym spent his time questioning us, asking about how we came to work for Orange Bikes, what it means to be part of it and the things that make us tick. Geoff set to work taking alternative angles, shots we hadn't seen before and imagery with no censorship, a sheet metal factory and a bike company for what it is.

Privateer Magazine Orange Mountain Bikes Geoff Waugh Tym Manley

Ashley Ball Jay Tolan Orange Bikes Privateer magazine

 

The article tells everything Orange Bikes; what we are now and how we got here, it places us in the bike industry and the UK, from the early days of steel framed mountain bike production through explorations into sheet aluminium and inserting the pivots that make frames bounce. The major thing for us, it isn't just a history lesson, it's a look at the people of today, the welders, builders and office staff that continue to make things happen in Halifax.

Issue two of privateer is a dense publication exuding quality in both words and imagery. There's an in depth look at titanium by Mike Davis, Steve Peat talks about who he chooses to ride with, and there's a serious time warp with a look at the Retro Worlds. Many of the subjects are aimed at people who've been involved with bikes or followed racing for many years, but it's also a great way to find out more about how our sport got to where it is today. Their claim seems well founded:

"Privateer magazine is for mountain bikers who already know the obvious; for riders who have paid their dues in sweat and dust and broken bone, and are irrevocably hooked..."

It's a look into the nuts and bolts of everything mountain biking, from people to lifestyle, from engineering to the ride.

Welding Jig Table Orange Bikes Privateer magazine

 

Going beyond the Orange Mountain Bikes article, we decided we wanted to contribute with an advert. The idea was to evoke some kind of message, not a blatant plug for any particular model, just a friendly playfulness of imagery. A line that epitomises where we are, and the simplicity reflected in our bikes and ethos, read about how we came up with the 'concept' here.

Issue two of Privateer is set to be a collectors item, so if you want to hear our story and others, get to a stockist and invest, or sign up using our exclusive offer code below.

 

Download Privateer Flyer PDF

Want to call into a store and pass some coin over a non-virtual counter, here's the stockist list:

UK...

RETAILER   Web address
Altrincham Bikeshak   http://www.bikeshak.com/
Always Riding Ltd   http://www.alwaysriding.co.uk/
Analogue Books   http://www.analoguebooks.co.uk
Back on Trak   http://www.backontrack-bikes.com/
Bertie Maffoons   http://www.bertiemaffoons.com/
Bespoked (18 Bikes Ltd)   http://www.18bikes.co.uk/
Bicycle World (Ringwood)   http://www.bicycle-world.co.uk/
Big Bear Bikes   http://www.bigbearbikes.co.uk/
Bike Bristol   http://www.bike-uk.co.uk/bikebristol.php
Biketart   http://www.biketart.com/
Bothy Bikes   http://www.bothybikes.co.uk/
C & N Cycles   http://www.candncycles.co.uk/
Cadence   http://www.cadencebikeshop.com/
Castle Douglas Cycle Ctr   http://www.cdbikes.co.uk/
Chelmer Cycles   http://www.chelmercycles.co.uk/
Chevin Cycles   http://www.chevincycles.com/
City Cycles   http://www.citycycleschichester.co.uk/
Colin Lewis Cycles   http://www.colin-lewis.co.uk/
Condor Cycles   http://www.condorcycles.com/
Cycle Care Ltd   http://www.cyclecare.co.uk/
Dave Kane Cycles   http://www.davekanecycles.com/
DC Cycles   http://www.dc-cycles.co.uk/
DNA Cycles   http://www.dnacycles.co.uk/
Downland Cycles   http://www.downlandcycles.co.uk/
Freewheel   http://www.freewheelshop.co.uk/
GmbH   http://www.gmbhshop.com/
Gone Biking Mad Ltd   http://www.gonebikingmad.co.uk/
Head for the Hills   http://www.head-for-the-hills.co.uk/
Howies   http://www.howies.co.uk/
Hub Bike Limited   http://www.thehubintheforest.co.uk/
John Atkins Cycles   http://www.kineticrush.co.uk/
Johns Bikes   http://www.johnsbikes.co.uk/
Just Riding Along   http://www.justridingalong.com/
Leisure Lakes (Ch'tenham)   http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/
Leisure Lakes (N'tingham)   http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/
Leisure Lakes (Preston)   http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/
Leisure Lakes (W'hampton)   http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/
Look Mum No Hands   http://www.lookmumnohands.com/
Magazero   http://www.magazero.net
Magma Books   http://www.magmabooks.com/
Morvelo   http://www.morvelo.com/
Mosquito Bikes   http://www.mosquito-bikes.co.uk/
Mountain Trax   http://www.mountain-trax.com/
North West M'tn Bike Ctr   http://www.nwmtb.com/
Oneplanet Adventure Ltd   http://www.oneplanetadventure.com/
Pedal and Spoke   http://www.pedalandspoke.co.uk/
Phil Corley Cycles   http://www.philcorleycycles.co.uk/
Red Planet Bikes   http://www.redplanetbikes.co.uk/
Ride   http://www.ridecycles.co.uk/
Rock n Road Cycles   http://www.rocknroadcycles.co.uk/
Shutt Velo Rapide   http://www.shuttvr.com/
Skyline Cycles   http://www.skylinecycles.co.uk/
Square Wheels   http://squarewheels.cubecycles.co.uk/
sShokwave Mountain Bikes   http://www.sshokwavebikes.co.uk/
Stanfords   http://www.stanfords.co.uk/
Steel Cycles Ltd   http://www.msteelcycles.co.uk/
Strada Cycles   http://www/stradacycles.co.uk/
Summit Cycles   http://www.summitcycles.co.uk/
Swinnerton Cycles Forest Centre Ltd   www.bikechase.co.uk/
The Bicycle Library   http://www.thebicyclelibrary.com/
The Bike Chain   http://www.thebikechain.co.uk/
The Sports Food Company   http://www.mybikefood.com/
Tweeks Cycles   http://www.tweekscycles.com/
Ultimate Sports Engineering   http://www.use1.com/
Urbanhunter   http://www.urbanhunter.biz
Wheel Spin Cycles   http://www.wheelspincycles.com/
Wiggle Ltd   http://www.wiggle.co.uk/

 

 

Everywhere else...

Kria Hjol ehf Iceland http://www.kriacycles.com
Pelago Bicycles Finland http://www.pelagobicycles.com
Sportskitchen Germany http://www.sportskitchen.de
Papercut Sweden http://www.papercutshop.se
Veloform Sweden http://www.veloform.se
Cykel City Sweden http://www.cykelcity.se
Cheeky Transport Australia http://www.cheekytransport.co.au
Sable & Argent Australia http://www.sableandargent.com.au
Curbside Cycle Canada http://www.curbside.on.ca
Redbike Canada http://www.redbike.ca
21st Avenue Bicycles USA http://www.21stbikes.com
Angry Catfish Bicycle and Coffee Bar USA http://www.angrycatfishbicycle.com
Bicycle Habitat USA http://www.bicyclehabitat.com
Bike Werx USA http://www.bikwerx.com
BikeWorks USA http://www.thebikeworks.com
Competitive Cyclist USA http://www.competitivecyclist.com
Cynergy Cycles USA http://www.cynergycycles.com
Mac 5 Bikes USA http://www.mac5bikes.com
Palo Alto Bicycles USA http://www.paloaltobicycles.com
Pushbike USA http://www.pushbikesf.wordpress.com
River City Bicycles USA http://www.rivercitybicycles.com
roll: Development Company, LLC USA http://www.roll-online.com
Salvagetti Bicycle Workshop USA http://www.salvagetti.com
Studio Velo USA http://www.studiovelomv.com
TATI Cycles USA http://www.taticycles.com
Topanga Creek Bicycles USA http://www.topangacreekbicycles.com
Vecchio's Bicicletteria USA http://www.vecchios.com

 

Want to find out more about Privateer? Visit the Rouleur website and click the links to Privateer.

 

 

Shop For Components Frequently Asked Questions Link Shedder Beer and Tees Now available Shop For Clothing Bikes On Offer